Reflecting on 2 Corinthians for The Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity

From Second Corinthians by Thomas J. Stegman, SJ, reflecting on 2 Cor.  13:11-13:

The doctrine of God as one and triune took hundreds of years to be fully formulated. What Paul’s writings reveal, at a remarkably early period—recall that he wrote 2 Corinthians only a quarter century after the death and resurrection of Christ—is an extraordinarily rich appreciation of what theologians call the “economic Trinity,” that is, God revealed in his activity in history through the sending of his Son and the outpouring of his Spirit. One prominent Pauline scholar refers to Paul’s benediction in 2 Cor 13:13 as “the most profound theological moment in the Pauline corpus” (Gordon D. Fee, God’s Empowering Presnce). The Apostle’s blessing here contains in embryonic form the rich understanding of the Trinity formulated in the Church’s great ecumenical councils.

© 2009 Thomas D. Stegman, SJ and Baker Academic. Unauthorized use of this material without express written permission is strictly prohibited.
19 Comments

Filed under From the Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture, Lectionary, Second Corinthians, Thomas Stegman SJ

19 responses to “Reflecting on 2 Corinthians for The Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity

  1. I will right away grasp your rss feed as I can not in finding your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please let me understand so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

  2. hello there and thanks on your information – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did alternatively expertise some technical points the usage of this website, since I skilled to reload the site a lot of times previous to I may just get it to load properly. I had been brooding about if your hosting is OK? No longer that I am complaining, however slow loading cases times will often impact your placement in google and can injury your high quality ranking if advertising and ***********|advertising|advertising|advertising and *********** with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and can glance out for much extra of your respective fascinating content. Ensure that you replace this again very soon..

  3. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?

    Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know where
    u got this from. appreciate it

  4. Я считаю, что Вы не правы. Давайте обсудим.

    Пишите мне в PM, пообщаемся.

  5. No, they know better than to damage their skin for such results, they use
    FAKE BAKE. You take in right, obtain a good amount of exercise together with
    ensure you attend to the actual skin. From pool side to party, the
    maxi is such a versatile piece.

  6. Just like other clothes, swimwear too is subject to wear and tear.
    But manage on previously than you go off to get hold of a pair that in form you the best as a result of
    you earliest have to have to master about about
    what in truth can help make swimwear alluring and retains it from presently staying dull.
    t wait for those steamy, hot days of summer so she can break out
    her bikini and confidently strut her stuff on the beach
    and by the pool.

  7. However, it is important to remind oneself that one’s that
    ones’ baby bump is a beautiful and exciting thing, and that the right maternity swimwear will
    make one feel confident and look amazing. Other factors are nice to
    have but aren’t so crucial for safety. For some people, they feel pressured to have great bodies; men usually want buffed bodies and the so-called abs, and women want
    to have curves and a flat abdominal area.

  8. There are a lot of ways of applying social network advertising and marketing which are totally free or have minimal costs.
    No need to upset your stomach (and loved ones) by eating it
    raw; cooked garlic retains its antibacterial powers, so
    long as you eat enough of it. That old spring might return to your step, and
    in the world of allopathic medicine which warns of
    all the negative effects of stress, our bodies just might
    react with the gift of being able to do all those things
    that stress blocked our healthy doing of.

  9. What’s up, I read your blogs regularly. Your story-telling style is witty, keep it up!

  10. Thank you for some other informative web site. The place else may just I am getting that kind of info written in such a perfect means?
    I’ve a venture that I am just now operating on, and I’ve
    been at the look out for such information.

  11. I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else experiencing problems with your
    website. It appears like some of the written text on your
    posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let
    me know if this is happening to them too? This could be a problem with my browser because I’ve had
    this happen previously. Thanks

  12. Hey! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a
    quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your blog posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?
    Thank you!

  13. I’ll immediately take hold of your rss as I can not to find your email subscription link or newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Please allow me understand so that I could subscribe.
    Thanks.

  14. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find nearly
    all of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for. Do you
    offer guest writers to write content for you personally?
    I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you
    write regarding here. Again, awesome weblog!

  15. I am now not positive where you’re getting your info, but good
    topic. I needs to spend some time studying more or figuring out more.

    Thank you for fantastic information I was searching for this information for my mission.

  16. After looking over a number of the blog articles on your web site, I truly appreciate your
    technique of writing a blog. I saved it to my bookmark site
    list and will be checking back soon. Take a look at my website too and let me know how you feel.

  17. Heya superb website! Does running a blog such
    as this take a massive amount work? I’ve virtually no expertise in computer programming however I had been hoping to
    start my own blog in the near future. Anyways, should you have any suggestions or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off subject but I just had to
    ask. Many thanks!

  18. I’ve been surfing online greater than 3 hours as of late, but
    I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s lovely worth sufficient for me.
    In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made just right content material as
    you did, the web will likely be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  19. I go too see each day a few web pages annd
    sites to read articles, however this weblog offers
    feature based writing.

Leave a Reply

